Home.Community Centre.Village.Local History.Gallery.Contact Us.


‘Gateway to the Galtees’

S  p  o  r  t

Galtee Gaels GAA Club

Brief History

The first recorded history of  GAA activity in the parish was in 1885.


A year after the formation of the GAA, Anglesboro, along with seven other teams, affiliated a club with the South Limerick Board .  However little is known of the subsequent history of this Anglesboro club.


While there was no club affiliated in Kilbehenny until 1929, football games were regularly organised.


The parish, now represented by Galtee Gaels GAA club, draws its players from Kilbehenny and Anglesboro.


The club fields Gaelic football teams at all age groups from U 8  up to and including Junior.


Down through the years, various schisms and re-unification saw the parish represented by separate Anglesboro and Kilbehenny teams and for many years by the Galtee Rovers team.


The club,  under its present guise, was formed in 1970 and plays its matches at  the picturesque


John O' Mahony Park, Kilbehenny, located on the Gerah road,


half a mile from Kilbehenny village


Formed in 2007, Kilbehenny Celtic played in the Avondhu League in North Cork from 2007 to 2009.

They had considerable success in winning the league title in the 2007/2008season and the Avondhu Shield in the 2008/2009season.   In 2009 the club voted to leave the Avondhu league and become affiliated with the Tipperary Southern District League.   


An official FAI leaguethe TSDL has four divisions and a premier Division. After a remarkable first year, Kilbehenny Celtic gained promotion to Division Three finishing second place with an impressive 34 points.

In addition the club competed in a number of cup competitions including the Munster Junior Cup which Kilbehenny entered for the first time in 2010.


In 2011 the club expanded further and set up a number of underage teams fielding both under 11 and under 15 boy’s teams as well as an under 12 girls’ team.


The club’s pitch is located in Ballinatona, Kilbehenny.  With the support of members of the Anglesboro and Kilbehenny parish the club runs a fortnightly lotto. Our sponsors include Liam Spillane of Spillane Bros transport, who has sponsored the junior’s kits for every season and The Galtee view Bar Anglesboro who sponsored our




Ballinatona, as you approach Kilbehenny from the Cahir direction (old N8)

take the first left as you enter the traffic calming measures approaching the village.


If you’re the motorway, take the exit for Kilbehenny/Mitchelstown, go through Kilbehenny village and take the first right after the three counties bar.

The pitch is about 3/4 of a mile down that road.


Contact details


PRO:                              ThomasO’Dwyer 087-7451749
Chairman:                       Johnny Cleary 087 - 2825046
Secretary:                       Tom O’Mahony 086 - 1616389
Treasurer:                       DenisO’Dwyer 087 - 2271959


Kilbehenny Celtic

Brief History


Fr. Dick Kelly

025 24040

Vice Presidents

Jack Barry & Patsy Casey  



Michael Kelly

086 8473928

Vice Chairman

Thomas O’Dwyer & Dan McCarthy



Seán O’Donovan

086 8282787

Assistant  Secretary

Sean Lane



John Mulcahy


Assistant Treasurer

Liam Allen

086 8127476


Ken Lane


Development Officer

Moss English



Aoife Gallaghue

087 9026736

Draw Co-coordinator

Kieran Walsh


Irish Officer

Patrick English


Galtee Gaels GAA  Club  



Club na nOg




Dan McCarthy

087 6883534

Vice Chairman

Moss English



Mary Hogan

087 9225613


Edward Moriarty



Liam Allen

086 8127476

Child Protection Officer

Aoife Gallaghue

087 9026737





(By Liam Allen)



Galtee Gaels club added two significant titles to their 2017 roll of honour in November 2017


The ladies minor team made the long journey west to play Feohanagh/Castlemahon in the B county final.

In a low scoring game, the Gaels Ladies were under a lot pf pressure and good defensive work kept them in the game in the first half.

The second half continued in the same vein with Gaels playing catch up against a much stronger Feohanagh thirteen.

Towards the end of normal time Gaels again drew level and  forced extra time on the score line 0 – 6 to 1 - 3.

By this stage Chloe Cleary and Ciara Heenan, both really unfit to play, were struggling but extra time had to be played.




With scores at a premium, the westerners early goal in the first period of extra time was a huge blow.

Gaels rallied and before the second break, Roisín Breedy broke up the right wing took on the defence in from the wing, before firing a probing shot that found the net.


The sides were all square 1 – 6   to   2 – 3 starting the second period of extra time. By this time Gaels had to call on their replacements, small in stature but big in spirit and they played a significant roll. Roisin Maunsell sent over two dream points as Gaels put in a final spurt, Roisín Breedy added a third.

The westerners were also out on their feet but managed to claw back the margin to a single point. With time running out, Gaels were waiting for the final whistle when they again opened up the westerners defence. 

Meave Heenan took the ball in along the line and while under pressure held possession and won a penalty. Molly Ryan, finished off an outstanding display, putting the ball in the net.

The Gaels defence was magnificent, keeper Gemma Geary and Emma Bourke deserve mention.





The second match on Saturday took place in Knocklong so little time for celebrating in Feenagh.


Galtee Gaels were expected to reverse last years result against Ballylanders and the sight of the Bally jerseys was enough incentive to get down to business early. Galtee Gaels were always in control and qualified for the final against Killacolla Gaels the following morning in Kilfinane.


Killacolla  were a different proposition, strong and physical,  they offered stiff opposition for three quarters of the game. Gaels were put under pressure and lacked their usual fluency in attack.  Gaels were flattered by a   0 – 4 to 0 – 3 half time lead.

In the second half, Gaels started to grind out a result and as the game advanced the lead was extended.

The game was put out of reach in the final ten minutes as the intense Gaels pressure yielded a flurry of scores. Gaels broke new ground by winning their first divisional A title and became the first holders of the Bill Fox Cup.



Galtee Gaels  - named Club of the Year 2017


Congratulations to Galtee Gaels GAA Club on receiving the South Limerick GAA Board’s Club of the Year Award.


Mike Kelly, Galtee Gaels Chairperson, received the award at a presentation function held at Bulgaden Castle on Friday 9th March.


Galtee Gaels had a very successful 2017 playing season, winning many divisional and county titles, including Adult County titles for the Junior A and Ladies Teams.


Individual 2017 award winners included Mike Jones, the Galtee Gaels Junior A captain, who received the Junior A award.


Tommie Childs received the Under 21 football  award, while Danny McGrath received the Minor football award.


The Dual Player award was presented to Stephen Walsh,

Principal at Kilbehenny National School.


Well done to all and every success in 2018.






Congratulations to the girls of  Kilbehenny National School

on winning, once again ,

The South Limerick Primary Schools Title

(Small School Section)

at Martinstown on Thursday 5th October 2017

They defeated Anglesboro National School in the final.





Mike Kelly, chairperson Galtee Gaels,

and Stephen Walsh, Principal Kilbehenny  National School receiving their well deserved awards.

March 9th 2018